Aethusa-cynapium_900px Apium-graveolens_900px Fragaria-vesca_900px Geranium-dissectu_900px Rumex-crispus_900px Suaeda-maritim_900px Vicia-hirsuta_900px

WEL Gene Bank: National Gene Bank for German Crop Wild Relative Species

The German ‘Genbank für Wildpflanzen für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (WEL) is a gene bank for crop wild relatives for which the German term ‘WEL’ species was coined. The WEL gene bank was established as a national network in 2009 in order to protect wild plant genetic resources in Germany to protect and ensure availability of seed material.

The 3.600 species of wild plants used for nutrition and agriculture (crop wild relatives) represent a substantial proportion of the comprehensive 4.000 endemic species. The WEL-Gene Bank has established a valuable resource for future research projects and for use in crop cultivation.

Participating in this network are the Botanical Gardens of Berlin, Karlsruhe Osnabrueck and Regensburg, as well as the Educational College of Karlsruhe. The WEL-Gene Bank is under management of the Botanical Garden of Osnabrueck, Germany.

The Information and coordination centre of the Federal Office of Agriculture and Nutrition (BLE) is responsible for the integration of the WEL Gene Bank in the “National Specialist Programme for Plant Genetic Resources” (PGDEU). 

This project was made possible by the support of the “Federal Office of Nutrition, Agriculture and Consumer Protection” (BMELV) und the Federal Office of Agriculture and Nutrition (BLE) within the framework of their model and demonstration initiative.

 

 

Joomla Template by Joomla51.com

Aethusa-cynapium_900px Apium-graveolens_900px Fragaria-vesca_900px Geranium-dissectu_900px Rumex-crispus_900px Suaeda-maritim_900px Vicia-hirsuta_900px

Genbank für Wildpflanzen für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft

Die Saatgutgenbank für Wildpflanzen für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (Genbank WEL) wurde 2009 als ein bundesweites Netzwerk gegründet, um wildlebende pflanzengenetische Ressourcen in Deutschland zu sichern und deren Verfügbarkeit als Saatgut und für eine zukünftige Nutzung gewährleisten zu können. 

Wildpflanzen, die eine Bedeutung für die Ernährung und Landwirtschaft aufweisen (WEL-Arten, im Englischen ´crop wild relatives´), stellen mit ca. 3600 Arten einen beachtlichen Anteil unserer ca. 4000 Arten umfassenden heimischen Flora dar. Mit der Genbank WEL wurde eine wertvolle Ressource für zukünftige Forschungsprojekte und Anwendungen in der Pflanzenzüchtung geschaffen. 

An dem Netzwerk sind die Botanischen Gärten Berlin, Karlsruhe, Osnabrück und Regensburg sowie die Pädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe beteiligt. Die Leitung der Genbank WEL liegt beim Botanischen Garten der Universität Osnabrück.

Das Informations- und Koordinationszentrum (IBV) der BLE ist zuständig für die Einbindung der Genbank WEL in das ´Nationale Fachprogramm Pflanzengenetischer Ressourcen´ und für die Übernahme der Passportdaten in das ´Nationale Inventar Pflanzengenetischer Ressourcen in Deutschland´, PGDEU. 

Ermöglicht wurde die Genbank WEL durch die Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) und der Bundesanstalt für Landwirtschaft und Ernährung (BLE) im Rahmen eines Modell- und Demonstrationsvorhabens.

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung

 

 

Joomla Template by Joomla51.com